205 No. Fourth Street | Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70801 | 225-387-5141 | church @ stjamesbr.org |            

“Everyone then who hears these words of mine and acts on them will be like a wise man who built his house on rock.”
-- Matthew 7:24

Adult Education

2018 Spring Classes will resume on Sunday, January 21

A Daily Dose of Scripture

A study and discussion of the lectionary readings for each Sunday, led by the Revs. John M. Pitzer and Ralph F. Howe, Jr., along with Ed Henderson and other lay leaders, gathers in the Kids' Orchestra offices (former diocesan area) on the third floor of the Ministries Center, at 9:15 a.m.

Pure Grace: The Application of 12-Step Principles to Life

The Very Rev. Joe D. Reynolds leads this forum based on his own manuscript, at 9:15 a.m. in the CSF Atrium on the third floor of the Ministries Center. Videos of sessions will be linked here, as available:

Videos (most recent, first):

Sunday, December 10, Session XI - To Forgive or Not To Forgive:

 

Sunday, December 3, Session X - The Moral Inventory - Confession, Absolution, Reconciliation:

 

Sunday, November 19, Session IX - The Intervention:

 

Sunday, November 12, Session VIII - Sin and Step 4:

 

Sunday, November 5, Session VII - What is Step 3?:

 

Sunday, October 29, Session VI - Step 2:

 

Sunday, October 22, Session V - Denial:

 

Sunday, October 15, Session IV - The Group:

 

Sunday, October 8, Session III - My Story:

 

Sunday, October 1, Session II - History of the 12-Step Program:

 

Sunday, September 17 - Introduction:

 


 

Previous Semester Video Links:

Click here for Fall 2016: The Interim Rector's Forum - Various Topics

Spring 2017: The Episcopal Church with the Very Rev. Joe D. Reynolds, with links to videos:

Videos (most recent, first):

Session 16 (Final): Sunday, May 21 -

 

Session 15: Sunday, May 14:

 

Session 14: Sunday, April 30:

 

Session 13: Sunday, April 23:

 

Session 12: Sunday, April 9:

 

Session 11: Sunday, April 2:

 

Session 10: Sunday, March 26:

 

Session 9: Sunday, March 12:

 

Session 8: Sunday, March 5:

 

Session 7: Sunday, February 17 - The Hallmarks of Anglicanism

British Version American Version

I am an Anglican,
I am C.E.
Not the High Church, nor Low Church,
But Protestant, Episcopal, and Free.
Not a Methodist,
Not a Presbyter,
Not a Baptist, white with foam,
I am an Anglican, just one step from Rome,
I am an Anglican, just one step from Rome

I am an Anglican,
I am P.E.
Not a High Church, not a Low Church,
But a Protestant, a Catholic, and Free.
Not a Presby,
Not a Lutheran,
Not a Baptist, white with foam,
I am an Anglican, just two steps from Rome,
I am an Anglican, via media, Boom Boom!
Alternate final phrase:
"I am an Anglican, Britannia, Boom Boom!"
Alternate final phrase:
"I am an Anglican, via media, my home."

 

Session 6: Sunday, February 12 - Henry VIII, Elizabeth I, and the emergence of an Anglican Church

 

Session 5: Sunday, February 5 - The Seeds of Anglicanism

 

Session 4: Sunday, January 29 - Morality and The Bible

 

Session 3: Sunday, January 22 - More about the Bible, an Episcopal Perspective

 

Session 2: Sunday, January 15 - Bible Overview, an Episcopal Perspective

 

Session 1: Sunday, January 8 - My Story:

 


The Interim Rector's Forum - Fall 2016

You can view previous sessions of the Interim Rector's Forum with the Very Rev. Joe Reynolds, below. (In the videos, below, only Joe's+ presentation portion is viewable to maintain privacy of conversation with those present in the forum.) Joe's+ Rules of Engagement for this conversation are here.

FINAL Session 12: Sunday, December 11 - Forgiveness: What It is and What It Is Not

 

Session 11: Sunday, December 4 - Who Speaks for the Church? is below. Click here to read Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Letter from a Birmingham Jail

 

Session 10: Sunday, November 20 - Women and Inclusive Language in the Church can be viewed, here:

 

Session 9: Sunday, November 13 - American Civil Religion can be viewed, here:

 

Session 8: Sunday, November 6 can be viewed, here:

 

Session 7: Sunday, October 30 - We apologize that due to technical issues, this video stops slightly short of Fr. Joe's full presentation.

 

The Sunday, October 23 session is here:

 

Here is the Sunday, October 16 session:

 

The Sunday, October 9 session can be viewed, here.

 

The Sunday, October 2 session can be viewed, here. 

 

The Sunday, September 25 forum was the start of several sessions on the Bible -- what is says, what it doesn't say, how it's read. You can view it, below, and the handout he refers to is here

 

Sunday, September 18, was an introduction to his forum style, his hopes for the series, and some of the topics he will be covering. The video from this session is below. 


 

  St. James Episcopal Church

Subscribe to our

eMessenger

The latest news, every Friday morning.

Visit our subscription page.

 

Copyright ©2017
St. James Episcopal Church
Baton Rouge, Louisiana USA