205 No. Fourth Street | Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70801 | 225-387-5141 | church @ stjamesbr.org |                

"Keep watch over yourselves and over all the flock, of which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers, to shepherd the church of God that he obtained with the blood of his own Son."
-- Acts 20:28

2019 Vestry and Associate Vestry

In all Episcopal parishes, the Vestry is the elected governing body of the parish. In addition to the rector, the Vestry is composed of the Senior and Junior Wardens, the clerk and, at St. James, 15 other elected positions (six elected each year for a three-year term), who represent a broad spectrum of the St. James community. As a whole the Vestry:

  • Helps to discern the vision toward which God is drawing St. James
  • Articulates and communicates that vision;
  • Holds the St. James community accountable for its realization of the vision;
  • Keeps the mission of the church and that of the individual congregation clearly before the parish community.

Individually, vestry members are expected to, “… further his/her spiritual growth, be regular in attendance at meetings of the Vestry, serve on one or more committees or ministries of the church and/or Vestry, participate in the annual stewardship drive, abide by and support Vestry decisions in a positive way, and attend church-sponsored events and programs.”


The 2019 Vestry members are:

Term Expiring January 2020:

  • Barbara Irwin Garon
  • Lee Griffin
  • Kyle Landrem
  • Anna Catherine Soule
  • David Warrington

Term Expiring January 2021:

  • Denise Allen, Senior Warden
  • Claudia Black
  • Patrick Broderick
  • Bob Israel
  • Julie McCall, Clerk
  • Craig Rhodes

Term Expiring January 2022:

  • Amy Kurtz
  • Bahin Leonard
  • Amy Rabalais
  • Trey Roberts
  • John Sykes
  • Stewart Tharp


The 2019 Associate Vestry of St. James Episcopal Church

The Associate Vestry is a unique body to St. James Episcopal Church, one focusing on hospitality and fellowship among parishioners through social events such as the annual Crawfish Boil, Parish Breakfast, and Fall Hospitality Party; or sponsorship of particular outreach events such as the parish Blood Drive, or Habitat for Humanity shifts.

Class of 2020:

  • Ben Dampf
  • Robert Heroman
  • George Holmes
  • Summer Keane
  • Charlie Provenza
  • Laura Rempert Kraeuter
  • Tracie Way

Class of 2021:

  • Emma Benton Achorn
  • Nile Bolen
  • Anita Byrne
  • Chetwin Carter
  • Lacee Lissard Perry
  • Rawlston D. Phillips III

Class of 2022:

  • Julie Adams
  • Alyce Dietz
  • Erin Irby
  • Kate Medine
  • Stewart Ross
  • Carlos Spaht
  • Lindsey Usrey
  • Jim Van Hook

Contact Rosters available here.


  St. James Episcopal Church

Subscribe to our


The latest news, every Friday morning.

Visit our subscription page.


Copyright ©2019
St. James Episcopal Church
Baton Rouge, Louisiana USA